top of page

our team

Stephanie Rowden

Stephanie Rowden

Project Co-Lead

Stephanie Rowden is an audio documentary producer whose work encompasses radio, podcast, installation and participatory public art. Her heart leaps with joy to see her students inspire their friends to vote. Stephanie is an Associate Professor at the Stamps School of Art & Design, University of Michigan.

Hannah Smotrich

Hannah Smotrich

Project Co-Lead

Hannah Smotrich is a visual communication designer whose work explores how design can make the possibilities for change visible, accessible, and actionable.  She loves watching her students discover the Zen of untangling dense voting rules into an easy to follow path. Hannah is an Associate Professor at the Stamps School of Art & Design, University of Michigan.


Brenna K. Murphy

Brenna K. Murphy is a visual artist, former preschool teacher, and wearer of many hats. The Project Manager for the Creative Campus Voting Project, her favorite activities include making to-do lists and crossing items off those lists with relish. She graduated with an MFA from the Stamps School of Art & Design at the University of Michigan in 2018.

Andy Kirshner

Andy Kirshner

Andy Kirshner is a composer, filmmaker, and performer.  He is inspired when his students use their creative gifts as media makers to excite their friends about voting.  Andy is an Associate Professor of Performing Arts Technology and of Art and Design at the University of Michigan.

Gillian Eaton

Gillian Eaton

Gillian Eaton is an award-winning actress and director. The importance of the arts in activating and illuminating civic dialogue is a bedrock of her work. She is an Assistant Professor in the Theatre Department of the School of Music Theatre & Dance at the University of Michigan.


Sky Christoph

Sky Christoph has too many interests, passions, and skills to know how to label himself. As the Digital Communications Lead, he makes things possible — websites, emails, videos, tech acrobatics. As the first in his family to be able to vote in America, he takes voter engagement to heart. Sky is an undergrad at the Stamps School of Art & Design at the University of Michigan. 

me white background-01.png

Sarah Miles

Sarah Miles is a design student, social worker, and advocate. She is inspired by watching communities rediscover their power through civic engagement and activism. Sarah, our F20 GSSRA, will graduate from the MDes program in Integrative Design at the Stamps School of Art & Design in 2022.

Stephanie Sim

Stephanie Sim

Stephanie Sim is a poet, illustrator and designer.  At various times she is the Creative Campus Voting Project's ace research assistant, content creator and wordsmith. Stephanie graduated with a BFA in 2019 from the Stamps School of Art & Design at the University of Michigan.


Elizabeth Williams

Elizabeth Williams is a senior studying Communication & Media with minors in Political Science and Business. Our F20 Social Media Coordinator, she understands the importance of creating digital communication to inspire young people to vote. Elizabeth loves mobilizing her peers to vote.

Our work is made possible with generous support from:


Students Learn, Students Vote Coalition

University of Michigan ArtsEngine

University of Michigan Office of Research

University of Michigan Democracy and Debate Initiative

University of Michigan Stamps School of Art & Design


We are grateful for the many students, colleagues, voting experts, and organizations that inform and enrich this work:

Edie Goldenberg, U-M Ford School of Public Policy

Turn Up Turnout (TUT)

Big Ten Voting Challenge

Erin Byrnes, U-M Ginsberg Center

Briannon Cierpilowski, UMMA

Jacqueline Beaudry, Ann Arbor City Clerk

Sally Marsh, Michigan Secretary of State's Office

Rena Basch, Ann Arbor Township City Clerk

Ideas 42 Non-Voter Innovation Lab

Clare Allenson, League of Conservation Voters

Christopher Patten, Center for Civic Design

2019-2020 UROP research assistants:

Vincent Pinti

Alonzo Cortez

Lindsey Haughton

bottom of page